Part I of 2: Last words from MB Seniors

photospring

The end of the academic year is coming, and one office  ritual involves collecting the REQUIRED FINAL TRANSCRIPT REQUEST from each senior. This form confirms the college or university destination (or alternate final plan) in writing; it also confirms any waitlists that are ongoing and enthusiastic.  Our staff is likely  to know all this information, but it is helpful to record everything from the point of view of the student.

David, Jill and I also look forward to two other questions that are embedded in this document.

One is  “Do you feel you were admitted to one of your top three (3) college choices?”  Parties outside our office ask us this question regularly about seniors.  We feel the reply contains more integrity if applicants themselves supply the answer.

The other question we can’t wait to peruse as the forms return is “What did you learn…..or how did you grow/change during the process?”  The responses are fascinating, thoughtful, candid–and truly represent a slice of the student experience in the college process.

Some learn lessons about administration and breaking down a large assignment.  “I learned that the best approach to the application process (especially a long one ) is organization: calm, diligent and patient.”  “Start early,” adds another member of the Class of 2014.  “Good to know when preparing my resume for jobs.

Several seniors emphasized that they improved their expository skills as they completed a range of long and short essays.  “The college process helped me become a better writer,” shared one student who will attend an Ivy institution.

Other seniors discovered insights about their personal philosophies and places in the world.   “Logic is good, but gut feelings are often better,” observed one young woman.  “I had to come to terms with a new set of standards by which to assess myself,” reflected one young man.

Other seniors discovered their approach to the future.  “I would likely be happy wherever I ended up,” confessed one early decision applicant.   “I did learn that I definitely wanted a school where I could practice my faith,” concluded another senior.   Considering her preliminary major and career-related choices, one student offered the following summary:  “I realized passion beats money in life.”

I will post more advice and observations from the Moses Brown Class of 2014 next week.  Members clearly learned and discovered a tremendous amount during their college searches and applications.

by Helen Scotte Gordon

Leave a Reply

